Government, health, chemistry

2/22/17

I understand the Framers to be those that created the US Constitution and the outline for government. They made there be 3 separate branches, the Legislative (makes laws), Executive (responsible for carrying out laws), and Judicial branches, and each branch had different powers. In addition, each branch’s powers are limited by those of the other two, because in this way the system would be a “checks and balances” system, so no one branch would get too powerful.

There are 7 Articles in the Constitution, and Congress has the power to create courts.

The Legislative branch has a lot of power over the others because the Framers thought the President should have executive power, but they didn’t want her/ him to have too much power, and so they thought a more powerful legislative branch would help with this.

If the House of Rep. impeaches a president, the president will go to trial in the Senate—to remove the president from office, 2/3 of the Senate must be in favor of her/ his removal.

If the president vetoes (rejects, refuses the passing of) a law, that veto can be overriden if there is a 2/3 vote in both houses of Congress.

That makes me wonder what we have a president for. I will learn eventually, but for now I can just wonder.

.

In my book “Think Smart,” neuroscientist Richard Restak reminds me of the benefits of omega-3 fatty acids. He says they are found in oily fish especially (such as salmon), but my concern with eating as much fish as advised (2 servings per week) is that fish contains mercury. I don’t know why—but I want to, and I will—but maybe only wild-caught fish have this mercury. However, my parents have concerns with farm-raised fish and that’s why we eat only wildcaught fish (salmon). Not that salmon’s the best, mercury-wise. Mercury’s bad for the brain, in case you didn’t know.

It really bothers me that not only do I have decay (aging) and death in my future, but also everything’s dangerous somehow, and until you know it you can’t protect yourself from it, and you can get pretty freaked out and depressed if you don’t know how to manage your emotions. It bothers me that there’s suffering, and that people have to die.

It’s just so cruel and sad. It’s terrible. We just are used to it, but that doesn’t mean it’s not horrible.

Of course I wish there was a Heaven to go to, and that we’d get eternal, happy life, and that I wouldn’t have to worry about health one day, and that there’d be peace, and etc.

But seriously? It doesn’t seem real, and that’s very depressing. But there is something I can do: appreciate this life, accept what I can’t change, be grateful, not take life for granted, not wait until I’ve got very little time left to realize I wasted most of it.

I can appreciate my loved ones, and when they go, I can know that they won’t suffer anymore, even if they also won’t be anymore.

I don’t want my loved to suffer.

Omega-3s improve mood, memory, and clarity of thought. I’ve seen a couple of things in my fridge now say on the outside that they have omega-3s, so really, it’s not hard for you to get this stuff. Eggs, fish-oil, etc. (However, maybe that fish-oil has mercury. But there are other types of oil which don’t, and still have omega-3s, like the walnut oil I’m currently having a spoonful of each day.)

I thought it important to note also that farmed fish have more than double the amount of omega-3 fatty acids that wild-caught fish have. It is thought that this is because wild-caught fish have a more active lifestyle, and burn more of that fat than farm-raised fish.

Also, a tad unrelated to omega-3s but related to the discussion on food that’s good for the brain, cutting back on cholesterol decreases Amyloid. Amyloid is actually found in Alzheimer’s patients’ brains. It interferes with communication between brain cells (neurons), which is bad for us.

2/23/17

In a closed beaker, say, with a substance in liquid and gas form, the liquid particles and the vapor particles have reached a state of equilibrium when the liquid is evaporating at the same rate as the gas is condensing.

Equilibrium vapor pressure is “the pressure exerted by a vapor in equilibrium with its corresponding liquid at a given temperature.”

Equilibrium vapor pressure increases with an increase in temperature, because such an increase raises the average kinetic energy of liquid molecules and makes more of them evaporate, which increases the number of gas particles and thus the vapor pressure.

Volatile liquids are ones which evaporate easily compared to nonvolatile liquids. This ease of evaporation is due to the relatively weak interparticle forces of attraction. (In nonvolatile liquids, attractive forces between particles are stronger, and so it’s harder for the liquids to undergo evaporation.)

Leave a Reply

